top of page
Search
  • poppythomsen

APP – Week 3


Style Workshop

This week I attended a style workshop that consisted of delving into a little bit about style itself, for example knowing when a personal style has developed etc. and also a few different drawing experiments . I found some of the things said about knowing about your own personal style pretty relatable. I agree with feeling a sense of familiarity or link within the work I am doing or have done in the past, and feeling a sense of comfort, feeling happy working in a specific way. But I love the idea of leaving room for exploration, development, mistakes and improvement because I know that I become a better designer through practice and research.

I feel like this workshop was useful to an extent because yes, it pushed me out of my comfort zone and forced me to be confident in my drawing skills and I appreciate that, but for a style workshop I felt like I was forced away from my style. To throw another side in to the mix, I also do think it forced me to understand and finally start to grasp my style, I could feel that the techniques I was using weren’t right and there were things my hands, brain and eyes wanted to do but couldn’t. So in a way I do feel differently after this session and I’ve learnt at uni that even if it doesn’t feel useful in the moment it usually is when you look back!!

 
1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 15 – Finalising

This week I got back to my work ready for my deadline. This included both the research project and APP. My research project has been...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page