top of page
Search
  • poppythomsen

APP – Week 4

Interview Skills

This week we focused on interview skills, the aim of this session was to understand the importance of portfolios, different types of interviews and different interview questions, how to present yourself and answers in both a structured ad professional manner.

A personalised portfolio gives a chance to show your personality, skills and talents. In my case working in the creative industry I will need to demonstrate flair and a range of different skills and techniques backed up with evidence to support these claims. A digital element is really recommended within any creative portfolios such as a blog, social media account or website.

We went through general interview tips like appearance and punctuality and luckily I do feel like I already have a good knowledge of how to present myself during an interview so this was a nice refresh for me. It consisted of things like body language, maintaining eye contact and so fourth.

A useful tip which I think can often go forgotten is researching into the company you are applying for, have a knowledge and understanding of what that company is about, look at their website, their social media etc.

I also found the type of interview questions section handy and I think it is useful to think about those types of questions (what made you apply for this job with us…) more often than not because on the spot that can be quite a tricky question if you are not prepared. So I think if I keep an awareness of these type of interview questions I will feel more prepared for interviews or similar situations.


For more complicated competency questions use the STAR technique.

 
0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 15 – Finalising

This week I got back to my work ready for my deadline. This included both the research project and APP. My research project has been...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page