top of page
Search
  • poppythomsen

APP – Week 7

Review Week

So to start this blog post I just want to say, I feel like I just wrote one of the best reflections in a long time, if not ever, about how I felt as a designer and really hit the nail on the head with the issues I have been facing throughout these past 7ish weeks, and in the heat of the excitement I lost it and I feel that passionately about it that I am writing this intro. I tried to rewrite it straight after but it just wasn’t the same so I’m going to give it some time and hopefully I will be able to recreate something similar.

In relation to the style workshop session in week 2, since short film project has been and finished I do feel like I’m really seeing a start of a style coming through, or at least some similarities through forcing myself to produce the work I did (festival visuals and storyboards).

Obviously this was the week after my deadline for short film project so I felt a huge relief and a sense of relaxation to have narrowed 2 modules down to one. The ending of one module did give me time to think about how I had done through the past 6 or so weeks and also gave me time to think about where I would like to go in the next coming weeks.

I really do feel like everything is slowly coming together as a designer, I felt like I had been forced into uncomfortable situations that squeezed the potential out of me. I know I am far from perfect and still there are a million things I want to improve on and get better at, but these first few weeks of 3rd year have allowed me to see this. I feel a sense of direction, I feel a sense of certainty in myself and my confidence. I think the style workshop in particular helped me realise in myself that I do have a style, maybe it isn’t visual yet but I have a style in the way I work.

I think this review week was a good time for me to relax and re-energise myself ready for the next project, but I felt like I needed this break to consider what I had been working on and almost look at myself from an outside perspective to understand myself a little better. I still feel very in the blue with who I am as a designer but I sense that I am slowly scratching the surface and revealing myself. I have a sense of my own design principles. I hope that the up and coming weeks bring more of myself to light, I think this year so far has been almost like a way of finding myself, or at least beginning to find myself.

 
1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 15 – Finalising

This week I got back to my work ready for my deadline. This included both the research project and APP. My research project has been...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page