top of page
Search
  • poppythomsen

Spray Paint Workshop


On Friday, Georgia and I were lucky to fit in a last minute extra session before going on placement For the last 3 weeks of both Developing Professional Practice and Design in Practice.We learnt a little bit about the history of spray paint including the creator of spray paint Ed Seymour, and a few big spray brands across USA, Europe and Australia.

We were We will talk through the different types of spray paint accessories including Caps, cheese markers and spray can triggers.The main aim of this session was to learn how to make texture using the fish net, water spray and hydro dripping. All of these techniques give a 3D look through the use of patterns. Hydro dripping is probably the simplest technique as it is similar to marbling which I have done a lot of in the past. I also got to practice how to use spray paint so the paint doesn’t drip or go on blotchy.

During the spray painting session, Georgia and I were taught the health and safety revolving around spray painting, and given PPE, including the most obvious rule – do not spray in an enclosed place! A really important area of health and safety is knowing what not to paint. For example, never paint wiring, especially exposed, don’t paint lightbulbs or anything that gets hot unless you use a high heat paint specified for that purpose. Obviously do not spray or paint near an open flame as it is highly flammable and always wear the correct PPE such as a safety mask and goggles.


I’m not very good at spray painting and I’ve always been keen to learn and get good, so this session was excellent for me as it’s another skill on the bucket list I’m now developing. I definitely feel I’m getting more confidence in myself as a designer and an artist, I’m also forcing myself to try new things and generally feel like I’m becoming a well rounded designer with lots of useful skills!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 15 – Finalising

This week I got back to my work ready for my deadline. This included both the research project and APP. My research project has been...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page