top of page
Search
  • poppythomsen

Week 7. Is There Anybody There?

18th – 22nd March


Show week for Is There Anybody There? During the show I found myself taking on a big role, almost as if I were stage manager. The week was super stressful and it was high demand from the get go. Lois, Bethan and I were available throughout the week to help run the show and make sure things worked out the way they should. As the week went on I started to feel really drained as every day I took on more and more and midway through the week I actually lost confidence in myself (which doesn’t happen often!). After a few rocky meetings I didn’t feel confident in the work I had produced and wanted to avoid being shot down in a non constructive way.


I’v never really struggled with criticism but I think this has been the first proper taste of real life and I have seen how stressful it can be. I’ve also met the multitude of personalities you come across within this industry, and sometimes the best way to deal with frustration is to bite your tongue, agree and get on with it. DO NOT give into frustration! I did find this difficult at times and sometimes felt like giving up, but the worst thing to do is let an opinion change how others (the crew and cast) perceive me. Why jeopardise my reputation with them? The best way to make a good impression is to remain professional even in the toughest of times. I think I can handle this industry, but I think it will take time, patience and a lot of ‘acting professional’ but after this experience I am already learning how to cope and work with a number of strong personalities.

Overall I am really proud of myself for finishing the week and sticking with it to the end and it was really rewarding to finish and to know that I had been a part of it.

Is There Anybody There?


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 15 – Finalising

This week I got back to my work ready for my deadline. This included both the research project and APP. My research project has been...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page