top of page
Search
  • poppythomsen

Working for Decordia


Last week I went on placement with Decordia, a festival and events company. During the week my job was to do any jobs that needed to be done, whether it sanding, painting or adding texture, you name it, I was the woman for the job.

After spending a week there I was pleasantly surprised and found myself settling in really quick, with the workload, the work hours and the people. It was a really nice environment to be a part of, and everyone was extremely helpful and welcoming. It was interesting being at Decordia because I felt like the girls working there, Kelly and Cordi had full confidence in us as they gave us free reign. The tasks weren’t necessarily difficult but it was nice to be left to my own devices and get on with it on my own. Skill wise, the work wasn’t difficult and I didn’t necessarily learn much but I utilised the skills I already had, although I did learn how to use an electric sander! I think overall I learnt more from the other designers there and simply being in and around a work environment like working with different people, understanding time scales and deadlines.

It was a shock going straight into full time work 9 – 6, having to make my own way, making sure I was on time AND walking to and from work everyday in the rain! It may sound silly but I’m really proud of myself for doing the entire week, early every day and even finishing later some days. I’m usually good with time but I get exhausted very quickly and it’s been hard for me to do university work after getting home. I now know that it’s something I need to work on, keeping myself in the work mode as I seem to relax as soon as I enter my front door!


Personally I don’t feel like I had any bad experiences there, it was really friendly, the work wasn’t difficult and everyone was supportive and happy to help if needed. I had a really good week and I now know that I could work in that industry, and I have enough skills to get me started. From now I plan to further all the skills I already have to generally improve as a designer, and keep looking for work experience with Decordia or similar companies.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 15 – Finalising

This week I got back to my work ready for my deadline. This included both the research project and APP. My research project has been...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page